Nomination Deadline

The deadline for nominations for 2017 volunteer awards is December 31. To nominate a member, follow the links to the nomination form on the individual award pages.

ACC Volunteer Awards

Roger Laurilla Photo

Volunteers are the heart and soul of the Alpine Club of Canada. Season to season, day in and day out for over a century, our volunteers run the sections, write articles, lead trips, protect the alpine environment and demonstrate their commitment to the club.

Our volunteers know the mountains. Every season, and in every part of Canada, volunteer trip leaders take enthusiastic groups and new members on climbing, hiking and skiing outings. Sometimes for an afternoon and sometimes for weeks at a time. Our volunteers are skilled, dedicated, giving and tireless. Without them there is simply no Alpine Club.

The ACC Volunteer Awards are intended to recognize those of our members who have made significant contributions in furthering the aims and goals of the Alpine Club of Canada and Canadian mountaineering in general. These Awards are one small way that we hope to show them our appreciation.

ACC Volunteer Award Recipients - 2016

These award recipients provide outstanding examples of the quality of volunteerism and club stewardship in the Alpine Club of Canada. The 2016 Volunteer Awards for contributions in 2015 (and previous years) were announced at the Annual General Meeting in May 2017.

A.O. Wheeler Award:

Ruthie Oltmann , Rocky Mountain Section

Honorary Membership:

Karl Ricker , Whistler Section

President’s Award:

None this year

Silver Rope for Leadership:

Rick Checkland , Edmonton Section
Rob Denson , Edmonton Section

Distinguished Service Award:

John Booth , Edmonton Section
Byron Caldwell , Calgary Section
Willa Harasym , Vancouver Section

Eric Brooks Leader Award:

Gerry Drotar , Calgary Section
Nathalie Drotar , Calgary Section
Martin Hofmann , Vancouver Island Section
Luca Jungen , Calgary Section
Thomas McElroy , Edmonton Section
Steven Rockarts , Edmonton Section
Paul Trudeau , Edmonton Section
Susan Twitchell , Calgary Section

Don Forest Service Award:

Lorne Filewych , Rocky Mountain Section
Brad Friesen , Manitoba Section
Brian Gilchrist , Manitoba Section
Tobias Link , Calgary Section
Lil Lezarre , Edmonton Section
Donna McColl , Edmonton Section
Clare Ormerod , Calgary Section
George Ormerod , Calgary Section

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee meets each winter to review all nominations received and submits its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval in March.

The Awards Committee members are:
  • André Mahé, Chair/président, section Saint-Boniface
  • Paul Geddes, Vancouver and Toronto Sections
  • Tom Haslam-Jones, Montréal Section
  • Dave McCormick, Saskatchewan Section
  • Rod Plasman, Rocky Mountain Section
  • Bill Scott, Ottawa Section